What are the Facts of Zodiac Constellations?

In Western zodiac astrology, there are 12 constellations called Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. From the terrace sitting behind up above in the sky, you will see all zodiac constellations in the sky.

We can see zodiac constellations such as Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, and Leo are in the eastern hemisphere while zodiac constellations like Virgo, Libra, Scorpius, Sagittarius, Capricornus, and Aquarius are in the west. The Largest zodiac constellation is of the “Virgo” sign.

These 12 constellations are representations of our 12 zodiac signs of Horoscope.

How are the zodiac constellations are used nowadays?


Latest science: 

Astronomers can use these constellations markings to explain the part of the sky. When skywatchers observe the sky patterns, they can see a bright object as a star in a constellation, but this might be Mars, Jupiter, or Venus as per their shape. Constellations can be used to show meteors in the sky or from where a can comet appears in the above space. 

In Navigation field: 

At an early age, the constellations were used to act as calendars so that farmers can know when to plant crops and harvest them on the farm. It was also used for navigation to help the sailors travel across another sea. According to NASA Space Place, they are still researching star navigation and have considered the constellation as a backup for their electronic instruments.

What are the facts of zodiac constellations?

The constellations are for thousands of years and have been seen from generation to generation. Below are the interesting facts as follows:

  • The word “constellation” comes from a Latin which means “set with stars.”
  • In old age, the farmers use to depend on the stars to know when it was time to plant and when the time was right to harvest.
  • Astronomers have divided into 88 different constellations in the sky.
  • The 21 Northern Constellations are Andromeda, Aquila, Auriga, Boötes, Cassiopeia, Cepheus, Corona Borealis, Cygnus, Delphinus, Draco, Equuleus, Hercules, Lyra, Ophiuchus, Pegasus, Perseus,
  • And next there are 15 Southern Constellations; Ara, Argo Navis, Canis Major, Canis Minor, Centaurus, Cetus, Corona Australis, Corvus, Crater, Eridanus, Hydra, Lepus, Lupus, Orion and Pisces Austrinus.
  • Astrology proved that there are 12 Zodiacal Constellations called as Aries, Aquarius, Cancer, Capricorn, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Pisces, Sagittarius, Scorpius, Taurus and Virgo.
  • In Ancient Greek they did not name any constellations but when a Dutch astronomer called Plancius created Crux and Triangulus Antarcticus. From here he created more constellations.
  • These names came from their mythological heroes and legends.
  • In the Hindu culture, the Nakshatra is the term for lunar mansion as per astrology.
  • Each constellation has Greek mythology and stories involved of angry gods and mysterious things.
  • If some of the stars are closer to Earth, they will shine brighter.
  • The season of the year plays a role to see constellations clearly.
  • Hydra is the largest constellation by area 3.16% of the sky.
  • The smallest constellation is Crux which takes up 0.17% of the sky.
  • 22 constellation names start with the letter “C” initial.

Why Do We See Different Constellations During the Year?

The constellations shift gradually to the west in the whole year. This is because Earth’s orbit moves around our Sun

Read More:


The next time when you look into the night sky, take the time to see this constellation. This will be a memorable time because they will look beautiful in their own way.

Zodiac Constellations are useful because they help astronomers to recognize specific stars in the night sky. Today, constellations are less important, but it was most important in an Ancient History. It was used to create the calendar so that they knew when to plant crops and harvest them.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *